How I Check My Email in the Village

Step 1: Open UUPlus (our village email client).

Step 2: Send and Receive in Outlook. All of the emails in my outbox move over to UUPlus.

Step 3: Plug in computer to modem.

Step 4: Turn on radio to one of the extra channels set aside for email. Make sure it’s the right channel because it doesn’t work on the other channels, yes I didn’t mean to but I have tried.

Step 5: Turn on modem. It should beep and the little red light should move back and fourth.

Step 6: Listen to the radio for sounds of someone else transmitting data. If you hear someone else, wait. If not, move onto step 7.

Step 7: Call out on the radio “Foxtrot 288 would like to transmit data, is the channel clear?” Nothing heard then go onto step 8.

Step 8: Use the microphone key pad to call into the radio and lock onto station. Wait. Once you hear a distinct warble move onto step 9.

Step 9: Press the Call button on UUPlus. Wait and make sure the call actually went through. If not, then press Stop and repeat steps beginning again at 6. If yes, then move onto step 10.

Step 10: Walk away listening to the click click of data transmission or sit and watch your high speed connection hoping that your transmission rate stays above 100 CPU. Don’t ask me what CPU stands for.

Step 11: When transmission ends say “Foxtrot 288 clear.” over the radio. And then unplug your computer, turn off the radio and turn off the modem.

Step 12: Send and Receive in Outlook. All of the emails UUPlus received move into my inbox.

Although this process is a bit complicated, it seems nothing short of a miracle to me. I am very thankful to Beverly’s supporters who made it possible for her to buy the equipment that makes this process work. It is wonderful to have the extra link to the world outside while still remaining completely consumed by the Walagu/Onobasulu world surrounding me everyday.

Just a little toksave (fyi)- If you are commenting on my blog posts, thank you. However, I am not able to look at the comments at this point because they are not being forwarded to this email. You are welcome to email me personally and as long as it’s under 50kb I will be able to receive it here. But please keep commenting and I look forward to reading your comments when I am back in the land of internet. Oddly enough the World-Wide-Web has not yet reached Walagu.

One thought on “How I Check My Email in the Village

  1. hi Joy! Yay for HF email!

    And the wonder of technology miracles like these, which no one at home would understand, is that you are currently blogging from the village!

    I hope you enjoy this comment, when you get back.

    By the way, in Step 10, I think it’s CPS, and it stands for characters per second. Since I came back, I was talking to my dad once about the numbers, and we came up with an explanation that HF email is about 30 times slower than dial-up.

Leave a comment