Pursuing a Masters in Social Work

“Transcripts received.”  “Can you please scan me a copy of your marriage certificate?”  “Your application is now complete.  If you give me the green light, I will go ahead and submit it.”  These were the last three interactions I had with a liaison from the University of Western Australia.  And after receiving confirmations from the university, I can now say that I have officially applied for a Master Degree in Social Work.Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 5.25.55 PMWe’re now sharing this with you so that you can join us in prayer.  A masters program for social work in Western Australia can potentially open many doors for us.  This University is in downtown Perth, right in the area where we would love to spend a couple of years.  This is just an hour and 39 minutes from Brookton and Ryan could make trips out there during the week and the Wheatbelt could (hopefully!) be where I do any practical part of the program.  When our eyes were first opened to the scope of problems in the Wheatbelt, Ryan and I both asked the question, “What can we do?”  In seeking to answer this question, this program at UWA came on our radar.  This program can potentially use my background in literacy and education while expanding my skill set to include other practical, tangible ways to help people.  It can also potentially be a building block to help me connect the Yakima youth to the Aboriginal youth.  And so much more.  Please pray specifically with us.  Please pray that I would be accepted to pursue a Masters Degree in Social Work at UWA.  Please pray that our path and timing would become more clear in the next couple of months.  And please pray for our hearts, ok more specifically my heart, as this season of waiting and wandering is particularly difficult.

One thought on “Pursuing a Masters in Social Work

  1. Wow! That is so fantastic! God is leading you to so many wonderful things! We are so very proud of you and Ryan! Prayers are with you always!

Leave a Reply

