Prayers and Praises…But Mostly Prayers

Each week I receive many pages of prayer requests into my inbox.  I’m part of a group of a couple hundred people who receive prayers and praises from the people in our church throughout the week.  It’s a privilege to read and pray for the numerous, heartbreaking requests and it’s amazing to be able to celebrate people’s praises alongside them. 20150608_081518

How I go about praying for these requests varies depending on my time and energy.  Each request is precious and already known to God.  Sometimes I pray for the list as a whole.  Sometimes I read through each and every request.  Sometimes I pray for requests to stand out and I concentrate and pray for only a handful specifically.

The one constant is that there are a lot of very heavy requests from health concerns to job and financial worries.  Families breaking apart and families grieving.  Requests for salvation and God to change hearts.  This week there was even a request to pray for a woman’s broken heart.

I love that I can serve the church in this way.  I know that God hears our prayers (1 John 5:14) and that we are told to pray constantly (1 Thessalonians 5:17).  On my own these prayers would be overwhelming but I’m praying along with hundreds of others to a God who listens and responds (Psalm 116:1).

Leave a Reply

