Explaining Daylight Savings

Daylight savings doesn’t happen everywhere.  So each time the clock changes, my work schedule changes.  The students I teach online wouldn’t know any difference but I did take this opportunity to explain daylight savings to my older students.  If any of them choose to live, study or visit the US, they may encounter this strange clock twisting thing called daylight savings.

DST_Countries_Map

This is a map from Wikipedia (DST Countries Map” by TimeZonesBoy – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons) and it shows daylight savings participation by area.  The only places that change with us are those in blue.  Even in the US, Arizona doesn’t participate.

I explained to the students the history of daylight savings being implemented for farmers but that we’ve just kept it on even though we are no longer a primarily agricultural society.  And they asked good questions like, “Do you think daylight savings is a good thing or does it bother you?”

Well, I personally don’t mind daylight savings time too much.  The biggest source of frustration is all the clocks that don’t automatically change.  My computer, phone and the cable box all got the memo on their own but I will be changing clocks around the house for the next week or so.  And if I don’t catch them all now, I may find myself next month staring at a clock that is telling me a strange time and I’ll need to remember why.

But if I had to choose, I don’t know if I would want to get rid of daylight savings or keep it.  For now I will just enjoy the perks of daylight savings while hopefully sleeping off the negative effects over the next week or so.

For everyone who just experienced daylight savings, enjoy the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

