A Taste of Australia

As I type this I am eating my breakfast, vegemite on toast with a little cheese.  I would take a picture but there is only one bite left:-).  This is not a typical breakfast for me and I usually only prefer vegemite with avocado but for whatever reason I have been really craving Australia lately.  Maybe some more meatpies are in order too.  One of these cravings comes in the form of a flat white.  This is how I order my coffee in Australia.  And it’s now available at Starbucks.  I wasn’t convinced it would be the same but after some buzz on Facebook, I had to at least give it a try.  So my wonderful husband picked one up for me on his way home yesterday (thank you Starbucks Christmas gift card!).

IMG_0662

I decided not to make adjustments (other than extra hot) just to see what it was like.  So this is a grande flat white, which comes with 3 shots.  And it’s ok.  It’s not perfect, it could be stronger to meet the normal Aussie standards.  One friend who grew up in Australia ordered a tall and made it with 4 shots for her closest approximate.  Another friend taste-tested the drink and you can read the results here: Eats Blog.  In the end I would say that for me it scratches the itch and the best thing that could come from this is more places in the US starting to serve a good Aussie style flat white.  Give it a try but stick with the smaller sizes and don’t be afraid to make it as strong as you like.

Leave a Reply

