Mail Chimp and Monkeys

Over the past year or so, I have been receiving more and more newsletters that use some sort of service to create a personalized email look, they also keep track of subscribers for you and i’m sure do many other things that I am still learning about.  The one that has been recommended to me multiple times is Mail Chimp.  This service is free although you can pay for upgrades.  And so far it looks like a fairly straightforward way to make my newsletter and work communications look different than just a standard email.

Another bonus is the chimp himself.  I mean, who doesn’t like being greeted by a monkey?  This little guy says things like “I’m feeling a bit peckish.”  If you are unfamiliar with that term it means that he wants a snack.  And his words come with a link so you can watch a monkey video.  As far as I can tell, you get a different video each time you sign in and they aren’t all about monkeys.  I’m not sure yet if I think these are distracting or amusing but they are probably a little bit of both.

So hopefully I will be able to figure this system out and get it to work for me in positive way.  Maybe in time for my February newsletter if I don’t monkey around too much.  Ok so that was a bad joke but I had to get it in their somehow.  Anyone out there use Mail Chimp and have any tips for me?

 

Leave a comment